Skip to content
Bath 1Double roll out
4 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
4 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

My home, not far from the I-75 exit, is within walking distance of Lake Superior State University (LSSU) which is the host to numerous athletic events. We are close to downtown Sault Ste. Marie attractions and the international Bridge to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. An excellent place for visiting parents, students, faculty, and traveling nurses.

The space

It is a practical family home of the 50s.

Guest access

The main floor bedroom is smallest with a pullout double. A small bath (but equipped with shower would be for only your use). It is tucked near the den and living room and stairs going to the next floor. I use the stairs but will take care to not interrupt your time here.

The single bed upstairs is quite private and you could choose which bath will be for your use.

The basement was once a total work area full of carpentry machines, a antique lathe and master wood burning furnace. It has been almost totally cleared and remodeled. The workbench (which remains to be sorted), a tall skill saw and a tall standing drill remain along one half of the East wall. This area forms a natural boundary behind a country table and is not for general use which everyone easily respects. Do not let the fact this bed is in the basement put you off--it is a very nice space.

The half devoted as a bedroom includes a walk-in shower room, four chairs, a cedar chest, two counter tops (one microwave), a country table and the and the use of a library (converted wood room).

The basement double futon has more space and surfaces to spread out on and with a private walk in shower.

Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo
Prices
Extra people €13 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee €13
Security Deposit €175
Weekly Discount: 11%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed
Bedroom 3
2 sofa beds
Common spaces
1 couch
House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 12PM (noon)

- No pets unless special arrangements are made.

Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Availability
1 night minimum stay

20 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Debbie User Profile
October 2017
Annemarie was a kind-hearted and attentive hostess. She was very accommodating to my food sensitivities and allergy to wool. The basement bed was quite comfortable and our conversations were delightful.

Janet User Profile
October 2017
We were a bit confused when we learned that the "bedroom" with the double bed was in the basement. We had the option to choose that area or the room with a pullout couch upstairs so we chose the basement bed. The corner of the basement is set up as a bedroom with a bed and a few chairs. There is a private bathroom that has been updated with an overhead shower, toilet and sink. Being that it is a basement there was also tools and workbenches visible. Annemarie was a very gracious host and offered advise as to places to dine and places to tour. She informed us about the beautiful Tahquamenon Falls and left us hand written directions to a beautiful scenic byway. Her dog Timber is very friendly and welcoming. Annemarie had a breakfast of fruit, cereal, bread and coffee waiting for us in the morning.
Annemarie User Profile
Response from Annemarie:
Sorry for the confusion about the pull out beds. I have tried to edit their description but so far when I press edit, it jumps to another heading. You are spurring me to contact air and find out how to do it. I also will also mention the multi-use for the basement. Anyway thank you for your thorough review and encouraging me to have a more accurate listing. I thrilled you got to take in Kitch-iti-kipi I will have to visit soon. All the best always. How sweet of you to leave me some of your native chocolate. No I am
October 2017

Noemie-Rose User Profile
October 2017
This place is wonderfully located, just a 5 minute walk to the University. Annemarie is welcoming and very kind, made me feel like at home but also respected my privacy when I was studying. The house was clean and had no pet smell at all. Overall a great experience, thank you!

Dorothy User Profile
September 2017
Annemarie was a very gracious, friendly host, who made us feel like we were "at home". We enjoyed our visiting with her both last night and this morning. The location was perfect for our activities at the Soo. We hope to see her again.

Pat & Connie User Profile
September 2017
Annemarie is a great host, she really went out of her way for us, even renting a video she thought we'd enjoy and she was right! Her dog Timber is so sweet and gentle. When she went to get the video, Timber put his paws up on the window ledge and watched until she came home.

Ellen User Profile
September 2017
Annemarie is a wonderful host! Hospitable and gracious beyond measure.

Julia User Profile
September 2017
Annemarie was very welcoming and accommodating! She ensured that we felt at home throughout our stay, from giving a tour of the house to stocking breakfast items in the kitchen. Thank you, Annemarie!

Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United StatesJoined in October 2015
Annemarie User Profile

I'm a member of a catholic sisterhood which emphasizes sustainable living, caring relationships and communities. I consider my home a way to carry out this focus in Sault Ste. Marie by establishing a place for people who want to stay in a peaceful home away from home.

This is a good place for those with a need for a stopover to make a presentation, study, visit or explore. It might also serve as a get away place for someone who wants to sort through their issues with or without a listening ear or just read a book, finish a project or wander physically or mentally.

I have spent several years upgrading this old family home to make it a beautiful, warm and friendly place to unwind. Timber, an elder black retriever and Brigid, a maincoon cat add to the joyful and restful spirit.

My backyard is a work in progress as in 2017 I work on establishing an organic food garden.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings