Skip to content
Lovely old beamed self contained apartment which is part of the old barnKitchen/Dining area with patio doors to the front garden. With pull out double futon
Charming Rustic Barn Apartment for Long/Short Lets
Charming Rustic Barn Apartment for Long/Short Lets
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Situated in a tranquil small village in the Champagne region, this self contained space was part of the outbuildings of an ancient demolished Châteaux. There is a nearby Golf Course and also the village of Chaource, famous for its cheese. It's a good stopping point on your journey North or South if you are on route. It is equally good for just a quiet stay to explore the picturesque region and do some wine/champagne tasting, walking or cycling. Biker friendly & room for tents.

The space

This self contained apartment is a section of a old beamed barn where I holiday. It is a tranquil place and is perfect for exploring the spacious countryside with ancient monuments, churches and villages. It's also an ideal spot for writing, painting, wine tasting, reflecting or just relaxing.

You have your own bright, beamed kitchen/diner which also has a pull out 2 person futon. There is also the possibility of putting a tent in the garden. If there are more than 4 in your party, I have another double bedroom in my house attached to the apartment, with its own bathroom. It is advertised on the Airbnb website and bookable through there.

In the apartment kitchen, there is a dining table and chairs, a small oven, microwave, kettle, toaster and crockery etc. The kitchen doors open onto a cosy terrace, ideal for breakfasting, with views of the front garden and surrounding courtyard of the old farm buildings.

The apartment has its own shower and toilet facilities with a wash hand basin, including a washing machine and ironing facility. The light bedroom has a double bed, wardrobe, dressing/writing table, bedside lamps and a small table, with a vaulted ceiling, featuring beams.

The private terrace outside the bedroom has a table and chairs and BBQ, with lovely views of the partly walled garden.

The apartment is directly attached to my home, so from time to time, I may have family staying.

There is a large to the rear, which has places to retreat out of the sun, under the fruit trees.

I provide linen, but if you bring a small child or baby, you will need to bring a cot.

Guest access

You have your own private entrance to the space. You will also have access to the front and back garden and a shared parking area. Please note that the main picture of the house is not the main entrance to the apartment, please drive on to the rear of the property and enter the car park through the green wooden gates.

There are neighbours and I can let you know on arrival, the boundaries of your outside space, as in parts of the front garden, it is not all walled or fenced.

Your accommodation is self contained.

Interaction with guests

I can help you during your stay, letting you know local information about shops, opening times, local holidays, markets etc. If there is something particular you need and find difficulty getting it, I may be able to help. However, you need your space and privacy, so I will always respect this.

Other things to note

You will need transport, preferably a car or motorbike. The nearest town (Chaource) and its shops is about 5 km away. There are no shops in Praslin.

If you are planning on flying or are coming by train, it is advisable to rent a car at the nearest train station at Troyes. The bus service is practically non-existent and taxis can be pricey.

It is also important to note that mobile phone reception is poor at the house, but it is always possible to make a call using the house wi-fi over Viber or Messenger or (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) etc.

There are animals nearby in the fields and the village which don't belong to me and they have a tendency to wander where they will so a dog or cats will pass through the garden. Please don't feed any of the animals, thanks.

Please note: You are using these premises at you own risk and should therefore have your own travel/accident insurance.

ATTENTION! Please note that the fence surrounding the back garden is electrified to prevent the horse entering my garden.
Please don't touch it and keep children away. It is only a low voltage, but it's safer not to interfere!

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Family/kid friendly
Internet
Kitchen
Prices
Extra people €15 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee €26
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 3PM - 10PM
Check out by 11AM

As it is quiet in the village, it would be appreciated if noise was kept to a minimum and preferably, not a lot after midnight. Smoking only outside please and no pets. However there are animals nearby in the fields which don't belong to me. We are in the country after all (horses, hedgehogs, birds, including owls and woodpeckers, local dogs and cats who wander where they will) Please don't feed any of the animals surrounding the house, especially the horse - thanks. ATTENTION! Please note that the fence surrounding the back garden is electrified to prevent the horse entering the garden. Please don't touch it and keep children away. It is only a low voltage, but it's safer not to interfere!

Please be kind enough to dispose of your rubbish on departure, there is a bottle bank in the village and bins and recycling crates provided for your other items. Also only toilet paper down the toilet facility, there are bins provided for you baby wipes, cotton products and other items. Also if you use the garden furniture, you do so at your own risk. Thanks!

Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Availability
1 night minimum stay

58 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Yulia User Profile
October 2015
Sarah is a wonderful host and it was a pleasure to deal with her both online and in person. The Barn is amazing! It is very spacious with the very well equipped kitchen and a very nice shower. It is so quite around and we had a very good rest from the busy city life. If you want more action the place is located some 30mins drive from Troyes and Chablis where there are plenty of things to do or see. We would stay with Sarah again with pleasure and would highly recommend her!

Nicolien User Profile
September 2017
Great house on a lovely location close to Chaource and in the middle of the Champagne area! Sarah is a nice host, and very easy to communicate with. The house is perfect for a couple if you do not need a lot of space. Very cosy decorated and a lovely garden with 2 private terraces! Kitchen well equiped. Simple bathroom and small bed. You will definately need a car in this area. Even to go to supermarket and restaurants (6km). les Riceys is 18 km’s away (champagne tastings) and the biggest town close by is Troyes, which is 30 km’s away.

Sarah's place has all you need for a quiet getaway, and you'll be hard pressed to find a more hospitable host.

Ties User Profile
August 2017
Very nice place in a quiet small village. Great quality supplies and well decorated. We went hiking in Les Riceys, through the vineyards, recommendable!

Nigel User Profile
August 2017
Lovely place to stay Sarah was the perfect host thank you we'll be back ! Nigel Susie Ruby and Jasper x

Robyn User Profile
August 2017
Cute accommodations in the country side. Great hospitality from our hosts, really really nice couple. Enjoyed watching all the kittens playing and the serenity of the country and surrounding villages. Loved it.

Andreas User Profile
August 2017
Beautiful and cosy place. Sarah is the perfect host. All the best recommendations!

England, United KingdomJoined in June 2015
Sarah User Profile

I'm a business woman who has bought an old barn in France and renovated it. Having owned my own cafe business for ten years in Yorkshire and worked prior to that in London for many years, I decided to carry out a long term dream of having a holiday home abroad and that has brought me here.

I was at university to study English Literature, and so I am an avid reader and still love the classics as well as modern literature.

I hope that when you come to stay, you will enjoy this peaceful village as much as I do. The surroundings are beautiful.

I firmly believe that Time should be enjoyed and not rushed, especially when you get a bit older. Enjoy the tranquillity!

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings