Skip to content
Room has TV, unlimited WiFi and private fridgeThe bathroom is adjacent
Charming clean 20 mins city Wifi/TV
Charming clean 20 mins city Wifi/TV
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

Wifi and TV in room! Only 2 mins walk from the new underground McKinnon station, fabulous restaurants and cafes. Double bedroom for 2, 2 lounge areas, private verandah and secluded, sunny back garden. Additional rooms also avail. Can pick up from McKinnon station. Great value!

The space

Tastefully renovated and decorated Edwardian house with large bedroom for 2 people and a second room (can be booked separately for additional couple) is available featuring superb antique furnishings. There is a private front verandah or secluded north facing back yard to relax in with a glass of wine after a busy day, or if you prefer, listening to music in the 'Red Room' or reading a book in the library/ office.

Guest access

A private fridge is available and guests can use the modern, well equipped kitchen by arrangement. There is private access to the down stairs room with verandah for exclusive use. Washing machine and dryer available.

Interaction with guests

Travel, food and wine loving professional hosts, Tony and Anna, (English as Second Language Teacher and IT) make guests feel very welcome and enjoy sharing great dining and travel secrets in Melbourne and surrounds. Meals can be arranged at additional cost if required. Tea and coffee making facilities available free of charge.

Other things to note

I am an English as Second Language teacher so happy to host non English speaking background guests and am easy to understand.
We have a very friendly female Jack Russell dog called Mitzie.
If you're a dog lover you'll feel right at home.

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Family/kid friendly
Internet
Smoking allowed
Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check-in time is 12PM (noon) - 8PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We appreciate guests to be courteous, clean and to tidy up after themselves. Smoking is permitted outdoors.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - We have Mitsy, a very friendly Jack Russell - you may be able to get her to do tricks
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Availability
1 night minimum stay

29 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Wenbin User Profile
November 2017
Good place to live. Lovely puppy.

Nora User Profile
October 2017
Beautiful generous hosts, if you're looking for a family welcome then this is the right place for you! Lot's of conversation, a big lovely house and a very comfortable bed. We really enjoyed our short stay with Anna and Tony. Highly recommended if you love great company.

Greg User Profile
October 2017
Very helpful with meeting times, greeted with a glass of wine and lovely conversation. Highly recommend and if they will have me I'll be back for sure. Great experience. Greg

Nartchanok User Profile
October 2017
Tony was very welcoming and accomadating. The room was a lovely place to stay for 6 nights.

Margaret User Profile
August 2017
Anna, Tony & of course the ever attentive Ms Mitzi are the best kind of people to meet, & to spend time with: warm, welcoming, funny, smart and so very kind. The station is truly just a few minutes away; the bed so comfy; their hospitality so engaging. I went to Melbourne to go to the film festival and to celebrate my birthday: there are so many wonderful cafes and great cheap eats in the area, & theatres and cinemas & art galleries all within a 20 minute ride on great public transport. Terrific people; very comfortable accommodation, & heaps to do. Cafe next to the station does great coffee.

Haesuk (Jack) User Profile
July 2017
Stayed at Anna and Tony's place for about 2 weeks with my wife, and have decided to extend our stay another week. It's simply a great place to stay. Close to public transport(actually, a 2 min walk to the train station), close to some great places to eat, and the house itself is splendid to stay. You can search the backyard garden for herbs that Tony grows, play with their dog Mitsy, watch DVDs at night in your bed, and hear stories about the Australian life. It was easy for us to get used to things in Melbourne with Anna and Tony's help. Everything from getting a Myki card for public transport to opening a Bank account, buying a car, finding good places to dine - they gave us lots of help settling in. Would definitely recommend this lovely place when staying in Melbourne.

Tony User Profile
June 2017
Great location in a very pretty part of Melbourne. Easy access to town via train. Close to some great eating spots.

McKinnon, AustraliaJoined in November 2014
Anna And Tony User Profile

Tony and I have lived in McKinnon for 26 years. I teach English to migrants and refugees and Tony is in IT.

We love living in McKinnon for its proximity to the city, Brighton Beach, the Mornington Penninsula and Yarra Valley wineries and restaurants.

McKinnon is a suburb we chose to live in after years growing up in Echuca, Geelong and Bendigo. We are close to Chadstone and Southland shopping areas and a quick train to the city.

We love entertaining international and interstate guests and sharing Melbourne's great dining and entertaining secrets. We have travelled extensively and worked overseas in Europe and USA and enjoy travelling, food, wine and listening to jazz and a variety of music in our 'Red Room'.

We have often hosted exchange students from different European and Asian countries as I teach ESL and I wanted my children (now grown) to understand and enjoy the myriad of stories that people have to share.

My sister and friends have hosted Air BnB for years and loved the experience and they suggested that we would be perfect hosts as our children have nearly finished their uni degrees and we have the house to ourselves.

Sooo....welcome to McKinnon, we look forward to meeting you!

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings