Skip to content
Sunny room in leafy Ainslie
Sunny room in leafy Ainslie
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

We love our little home and think it is very cosy and a little rustic. It is very sunny and in a great location - a short walk from Ainslie and Dickson shops, backing onto the Mount Ainslie ridge, right near the Dickson wetlands, directly opposite a bus stop, and home to a very large and sunny backyard. Our neighbours are lovely, and we consider ourselves to be friendly and easy going people also. People from all backgrounds are welcome, the more foreign accents the better in our opinion! (:

The space

We have very large windows that provide lots of sun and it's beautiful to sit on the couch in the early morning with a cup of tea. There's a great sense of space and sky where we are as there are no apartment buildings in sight! Only the mountain, which you have a clear view of from the backyard. Sometimes at night I stand in the backyard and the view of the stars is wonderful...

We have an open plan living room and dining room area so the house feels quite open and many people say it is a relaxing environment. I love decorating and colour so I also feel it is quite a happy feeling environment. We have white walls and wooden floors, tiles in the kitchen and carpeting in the bedrooms. We have two couches - one is a particularly comfortable L-shape. We also have a fire drum and firewood out the back, and sometimes bake a fish and have friends over on Sundays. Guests are always welcome.
(...This is a listing I just made for a second room. I'm still editing, but for now see my other listing with the same title, as all the same info applies)

Guest access

Guests are allowed everywhere (: There is a space to lock up bikes, and fridge and cupboard space if needed...
We have a bath that is also available to guests, and plenty of candles!

Interaction with guests

We're all very friendly but can also read signals if you need to be alone... I like to talk to guests and give them tips about where to go, and also find out a little about them and where they're from. If I'm cooking I will always offer dinner. We like baking so a couple of guests have benefited from afternoon teas, but there is no obligation to socialise. We are easy going. (There are two or three of us in the house usually, depending on schedules)...
And there is often bread and eggs and bacon in the house that guests can make use of... and tea and coffee are always freely flowing (:

Other things to note

For Canberra, it is quite a warm house as it is well-insulated and also sunny, but there is also heating which makes you forget it's winter outside (: We also have heat lamps in the bathroom.

My cat Mackerel doesn't shed very much - I have allergies to cats but she doesn't seem to affect me, as she doesn't leave much hair around the house at all.

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises
Suitable for events
Kitchen
Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 floor mattress
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 4PM

We have a little cat who is very cute but equally unsavvy on the roads and so she needs to be kept in at all times. We have lost a lot of cats on the road outside our home. She can be a little sneaky and fast (: So this requires guests make sure she is far away from the door before leaving and also that they use their feet to shoo her away, when coming in. Don't feel mean, it's what we have to do! (: She has occasionally been locked out unwittingly so I ask guests to check she's actually in the house whenever they are leaving or entering. Sorry to sound pedantic, she is very dear to us!

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Availability
4 nights minimum stay

1 Review

Nathan User Profile
November 2017
Another great stay at under a fantastic host!

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Australian Capital Territory, AustraliaJoined in August 2016
Bess User Profile

I like art, music, cooking, travelling, nature, animals, gardening, the beach... I like to think I am friendly and positive and open. (: I enjoy hosting people and love to meet new people and have a chat, but also equally happy to give people space, make them a cup of tea and let them retire to their room if they want to. I'm pretty easygoing. No great rules here, other than trying to keep the cat in the house.


My life motto is (well, one of them): I don't know how I'm going to do it, but I'm going to do it! (:


Because people tend to want to know we do with our lives... I am a Montessori Primary school teacher. Before this, I worked at the Canberra Environment Centre running sustainability workshops and markets, before that as an installation artist, before that with refugee children, and before that at SBS Television. (: I speak Italian, and have spent about 6 months in London, Italy and Canada. I studied philosophy and literature at uni, and then fine arts and art history... I don't play an instrument but would love to! Enough about me!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings