Skip to content
Welcome!Looking across Coniston Water towards our hamlet
Serene hamlet by Coniston Water
Serene hamlet by Coniston Water
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Our home is in the hamlet where Arthur Ransome, author of 'Swallows & Amazons' spent his childhood holidays. Today it still retains its charm, even in high summer. We are a stone's throw from the lake, with woodlands & waterfalls on our doorstep.

The space

We have 2 lovely guest bedrooms, each with king-size beds, sharing a bathroom. (We often only have one guest group at a time but on busy summer weekends you may have to share the facilities.) I provide fresh towels, shower & bath products, wifi access & tea/coffee making facilities in your room. You can enjoy your buffet breakfast either in the kitchen by the Aga, or outside if the weather is nice.
You are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare your packed lunch or a simple evening meal though of course you may prefer to visit one of the local pubs or restaurants; the nearest pub is the Red Lion ( a gentle 2 mile walk away if you're feeling energetic!)

Guest access

My home is yours for the duration of your stay. Enjoy the communal spaces - the lounge with its log fire, the kitchen and garden- as well as the privacy of your own room.

Interaction with guests

I am happy to chat and assist guests in any way to help them make the most of their visit to this special place. However, if you prefer peace, quiet and privacy there's plenty of opportunity for that.

Other things to note

Please note: we welcome guests from Easter through to December but are usually closed from January to March.
We regret we do not accept children under 12 years.
Please note that, as we are in a rural area, the internet is fairly slow; OK for emails and web browsing but not for streaming. Please download any movies you wish to view before your visit!
Also, be aware that mobile reception can also be patchy unless you are on Vodafone.

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Breakfast
Prices
Extra people €38 / night after the first guest
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Cancellations
Availability
1 night minimum stay

23 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Maddalena User Profile
November 2017
Recommend staying at Brendas Perfect breakfast, best eggs I had in quite a while. Very cosy AGA warm kitchen. Log fire evening. Very good shower with a good sized box. Good tips on walks and eating out. Will go back!

James User Profile
October 2017
Brenda was an amazing host. She went above and beyond to help us get to and from her house without a vehicle and to help us enjoy our stay. Brenda took the time to show us hikes and other things we could do in the area, and loaned us a map of the area on our day out. Her home was lovely and had lots of character, and the breakfasts were great! We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and would definitely come back.

Emma User Profile
October 2017
Beautiful cottage on the edge of lake Coniston. The area is very picturesque and a lovely place to base your self for exploring the lake District. Brenda put me in a lovely room at the front of the house, which was light and had lots of space. She has a lovely fire in the room which was so cosy after the day spent walking. She laid out a huge breakfast for me and displayed everything so nicely. I adored chatting with her too on the couple of occasions we saw each other. I felt very welcome and at home straight away. Thank you so much Brenda. I will definitely come back next time XXX

Kym User Profile
October 2017
A wonderful stay with a superb hostess. Thankyou.

Tim User Profile
October 2017
Whilst looking for a place to stay in the Lake District to do some walking and photography I came across a few places with "Super Hosts". I wondered what a host would have to do in order to be graced with such a title... having spent a couple of nights at Brenda's place, I am now 'in the know'. The house is an old converted barn and the bedroom could have been a little cold but a fan fire was on when I arrived as well as the central heating. Downstairs an Aga kept the kitchen very cosy and one evening Brenda lit a wood fire in the front room which was great for snuggling up on the sofa with a book. The shower was hot morning and evening and sufficient enough that I had no cause to dive into the huge bath. A towel and shampoo/gel was provided. The breakfast was lovely - a place was set at the dining table when I arose and continental style breakfast awaiting me. As was Brenda who made fresh coffee and, when the cereal, toast and fruit was finished, asked me how I liked me eggs - well, poached is what I asked for and seeing how good they were the first morning, poached it was again the next. Brenda suggested a few good walks and there were plenty of guides to the area available to look through. Overall a most enjoyable stay and a delightful host. Must. Come. Back.

Hina User Profile
October 2017
Brenda is a perfect host! She welcomed us with a bright smile and home backed cake with tea/coffee. Fab breakfast in the morning and lovely chats! She is very helpful and gave us lots of tips about nearby walks/ places to visit and nice pubs/cafe in the area! Lovely house, spacious room and bathroom. It's a beautiful part of the Lake District! We will strongly recommend her!

Flora User Profile
September 2017
Brenda is the lovelies host, she makes a fantastic breakfast and very kindly gives advices to where to go for walks, eat and about anything that you might need while in the Lake district. She even gave me a lift to the train station! A great experience, I highly recommend staying at the place :)

United KingdomJoined in June 2015
Brenda User Profile

I love living in the English lake district, but also enjoy travel and spending some of the winter in warmer climes. I've volunteered in South Africa over the last few years. I enjoy meeting new people and introducing them to this beautiful area.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings