The living room is relaxed and cozy.The downstairs bedroom has sliding-glass doors that face the back deck.
Rustic A-frame near Rehoboth Beach
Hosted by Cynthia
Cynthia is the host.
8 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
1 bath
8 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Beautiful split A-frame on wooded property, 13 min S of Rt. 1 leading into Rehoboth Beach, Lewes available for weekend, weekly rentals. Two-bedrm plus loft (double bed, 2 double futons, 2 twins), 1 bath, 2 decks. Mature dogs considered for extra fee.

The space

Do you want to be in Rehoboth, Lewes or Dewey during the day but escape the summer beach crowds at night? If so, this beautiful, fully furnished one-of-a-kind split A-frame house, located in Sherwood Forest, may be the getaway place for you! Situated on a quiet residential loop in a heavily wooded area, the house has two bedrooms and an upstairs loft area that can be used either as a bedroom or a den; one bath; front and backyard decks; and a bathroom/laundry area. The beach resort towns of Rehoboth, Lewes, Dewey and Bethany, with their access to shopping, restaurants, and amusements, are nearby -- as is the bay. (Rt. 1 is a 13-minute drive up Rt. 24.) And grocery shopping, local eateries and the Baywood golf course are all just around the corner. House has AC window units. All renters must sign a lease and a security deposit is required. Dogs may be considered on a case-by-case basis for an extra nonrefundable $100 pet deposit. No puppies or dogs under 2 years old.

Guest access

Full kitchen. Stores/restaurants are within walking distance.

Interaction with guests

I prefer to greet guests upon arrival when possible.

Other things to note

Linens are provided for an extra $15 fee per bed.

Air conditioning

Extra people €87 / night after 3 guests
Cleaning Fee €44
Security Deposit €699
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price €219 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Adult dogs (over 2 years old) are accepted on a case-by-case basis, must be leashed at all times when walking, are not allowed to be tied up alone outside and are not allowed to be left alone at the house. (You need to take them to a dog-friendly beach/restaurant/outdoor facility when you leave the house, in other words.) There is an extra nonrefundable dog fee and crating your dog at night, if at all possible, is encouraged.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

26 Reviews

Check In
Beryl User Profile
August 2017
it was a nice house. Thought it was going to be closer to the beach. the staircase was a little dangerous as it had small steps. the beds weren't very comfortable.
Cynthia User Profile
Response from Cynthia:
Thanks for your feedback, Beryl! The listing description notes that the house is about a 20-25 minute drive from the beach towns under normal traffic conditions (and it was 23 minutes for me after I pulled away from a parking meter a block off the ocean in Rehoboth last week); however, the drive may take longer during peak season, which is the case for getting anywhere when driving in and out of the beach communities. The staircase has standard-size carpeted treads and a side railing, but the top 2-3 steps do curve around so are narrow on the inside; therefore, if senior citizens are in the group, I would suggest they stay in the bedroom on the first level, which is only 2 steps up to the deck in the front (see photos). And finally, I have purchased a new queen-sized memory-foam mattress and frame for the downstairs bedroom, and will be replacing one of the double futons with a double bed with boxed springs upstairs. Those beds should be in place for the 2018 beach season, so I will update my listing description and add photos before then. Thanks again for your input. I appreciate it!
August 2017

Charissa User Profile
August 2017
Ok, someone has to do it so here is the honest review of this place. It is a run down home where the walls are not even fully painted and there is no space for entertaining or gathering as a group. The entire layout of the place is cramped and very awkward. The neighborhood is not a forest or woodsy, the neighbors are right on top of you. We could not open a door to the patio because it was broken. The bathroom door didn't function properly. The whole place did not feel clean and had a musty smell. The host milled about fixing a fan and vacuuming and such uncomfortably for about an hour after arrival (we came around 5, well past the check in time). I would not stay again.
Cynthia User Profile
Response from Cynthia:
I appreciate reviews that reflect honest feedback, especially since there is always room for improvement as a host. However, in all honesty, I do feel that Charissa, who arrived with unauthorized guests later in the evening and whom I never actually met, is being retaliatory because she was assessed fees both for having more guests than were in her reservation and for leaving stains that would not come out on bedspreads and couch coverings that her surplus guests slept on. In fact, I first found out about the extra guests from the neighbors who complained, and who provided both a car and head count, and I found further evidence upon arriving back at a house that had a musty beer odor, wet rugs, muddy foot and paw prints (from an unauthorized dog) on the floors, and dozens of cups and alcohol containers in the trash. So it comes as no surprise that a person who appears to have hosted an overnight party (which is not permitted on the property) might have felt a bit cramped and cooped up, especially on a stormy weekend. Further, as my listing states, this is a rustic home that is indeed located in a wooded residential community called Sherwood Forest, with multiple stores and restaurants within walking distance, so there is not really anything misleading about the description. However, if one is looking for a secluded cabin nestled in a forest, then, no, this is not the place – sorry! Finally, it is true that there were a couple of test paint swatches in the kitchen and on trim that has since been re-painted, that a sliding-glass door was sticking a bit (the rollers were replaced the next day), and that the initial guests arrived well after their stated check-in time; in fact, they were close to 3 hours late. However, I would like to clarify that the reason I vacuumed and “milled about” was because it had started raining while I was waiting so I had to pull my dogs in from outdoors and quickly re-tidy the room they had been confined in when the guests arrived (which I explained to them as we went on the house walk-through). That and I did take an extra fan out of storage and clean it while I was waiting for them because it was nearly 100 degrees outside. So, again, I do take guests’ feedback very seriously, and I do make improvements and try to be as accommodating as possible, based on their suggestions; hence the new appliances (and, as of this week a new bed!), as well as being on hand for a house walk-through when guests arrive. However, I also expect honesty, proper payment, and overall respect for my house, couches and neighbors (especially in terms of number of persons staying), from my guests in return. Thanks.
August 2017

Brian User Profile
August 2017
Cynthia is very accommodating and great to communicate with. Our flights were delayed so we got in really late, but she still stayed behind to greet us. Great central location to the beach and breweries too. Close to the woods so naturally there are a few bugs but her place is clean and she'll give you advice on where to go in the city.

Edison José User Profile
August 2017
Didn't have the chance to meet Cynthia because I was in the group that arrived late but heard she was very nice! The house was okay, furniture were a little bit too old but not a big deal. The house was pleasant. Big and comfortable enough to accommodate all of us. Would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Jacob User Profile
July 2017
Cynthia was super nice and her home is located in a woodsy neighborhood, close to plenty of stores, etc. Definitely not fancy, but everything you need (except wifi and cable tv). I would recommend, esp if travelling with pets.

Juan User Profile
May 2017
Cynthia was great at accommodating my late arrival on a Friday night. She helped us settle in and answered any questions we had. Heads up: there's no wifi, which most of us now take for granted. However, it was a great way to disconnect for a weekend at the beach. There's a Giant right behind the house for any supplies needed and getting to the beach was easy. The large backyard was wonderful and we took advantage of the charcoal grill. We even got to play some basketball with the hoop set up in the backyard.

Lydia User Profile
September 2016
We LOVE everything about this place! Great house for the family/friend trip, awesome neighborhood (living in the woods but still close to the city) and the drive to Rehoboth beach wasn't too far. Cynthia was so kind and helpful, her responses are always informative and quick, and we felt like home how she greeted us on our arrival and all her help plus carings after we left early cause of the terrible hurricane. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend anyone who wants to chill a little at a heartwarming house but still want a close drive to the beach!

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in July 2013
Cynthia User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings