main room sitting area from balcony
Andes Cabin Retreat
Hosted by Michael
Michael is the host.
6 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

My place is AMIDST fantastic views, looking out upon the Catskill Park from my peaceful property. A calm comfortable mountain retreat to recharge & reconnect. Trails run through my properties, abundant wildlife (from bluebirds to eagles), 2 streams, adjoining thousands of acres of reservoir land, yet just minutes from restaurants and entertainment. My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, business travelers, families (with older children), and canine buddies.


Amenities
Indoor fireplace
Dryer

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee €87
Security Deposit €262
Weekend Price €262 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)

- There is a 30% security deposit ($250. minimum) 40% if children or pets are part of the rental party. May 25th to Oct. 31st it is $600. for a weekend rental, $175. for a 3rd night, the price reduces per night for each night added. $1225. per week. Nov. 1st to May 24th it is $500. per weekend and $1050. per week. Sales tax of 8% for rentals of less than 7 nights, no sales tax for 7 nights or more. Bed tax of 2%. There is an $80. cleaning charge for one or two people without a pet, otherwise the cleaning fee is $100. I do not usually accept rentals with children under the age of 5, infants are fine. I do not allow more than the maximum of 6 guests in my home. This is a quiet getaway. I am a curmudgeon. Do not move the furniture. If you use the bbq grill on the deck clean it, otherwise there is a $25. charge. Wash kitchen utensils and run the dishwasher before you leave otherwise extra cleaning charges will apply.
- PETS: Generally a “well behaved” canine friend is welcome but I do request that pets are treated for fleas not more than 30 days nor less than 3 days before arrival. Also, I do not want any pets left in the home alone unless they are crated. Best to take them with you, they will love you all the more. Of course, pets are not allowed on any of the furniture or beds and I would not want them going into ponds and streams and then coming in the house without drying off first. There is a $20. fee per pet for stays of 3 nights or less, and $35. per pet for stays of 4 nights or longer. What kind of dog do you have and what is its age?
- I have a notes in a folder that will be sleeping on the counter awaiting your arrival. They should cover any questions you might have and make for a harmonious stay for you and my home. Please feel free to contact with any questions you may have, before or after arrival.
- There is a separate pile of wood near the fire pit for use in the fire pit. The firewood next to the cabin is for use in the wood stove—check with the host for the wood that is properly seasoned. Take note, the wood stove is best suited for use in cold weather, it really heats up the cabin. No furniture is to be moved. There is a $150. fine if you change any settings on the wifi/router.


Cancellations

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

No reviews (yet)

This home doesn’t have any reviews. If you stay here, your review will appear here.

Andes, New York, United StatesJoined in June 2016
Michael User Profile

I am an avid hiker having hiked most mountains in the Catskills many times, and also kayak. I spent 10 weeks driving camping and hiking from the coast of Maine to the northwest corner of Washington State, down to Arizona and back up through Utah and Colorado then points east, hiking Khatadin, the White Mountains, Bob Marshall Wilderness, Yellowstone, the Cascades, Yosemite, Chiricahuas, Zion, and many more, also a month in Alaska. For 25 years I toured & recorded throughout the world with NYC, and at times Paris, as my base. Upon buying my lower Catskill home here in Andes I started transitioning to working as a studio artist, photo retoucher, photo illustrator, and graphic designer, working with the major design studios, but mainly at HBO, USA, and Showtime, and then a stint with National Geographic. I was pretty much living here full-time by 2002, completely moved out of NYC. in 2008. Upon purchasing the first property I immediately started creating planting beds and planted many hundreds of trees, all of which supply habitat for wildlife, and through which I maintain trails. (My latest development is building a rock garden amidst the rock ledges that rise up behind the cabin.) Here one can commune with nature on a macro/micro level. I easily attain a state of wonder and this environment sustains that. I am now once again involved with music, both writing and performing. When I started working with a choreographer they asked for my resume for a show. I wrote: Communing with lichen and moss above 3500 feet. (They said they needed more.)

The neighbourhood

Similar listings